If you are struggling to make ends meet and need assistance, you may get the help you need from your local government. Since the beginning of the pandemic, several states have passed legislation and provided stimulus checks for their residents. Depending on the state, you may be able to access payments in the form of a stimulus check or as a tax rebate.

Several states are currently evaluating new plans and measures to support their residents, but some have already passed legislation and are providing assistance: Maine, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana and New Mexico

Which States Offer Additional Stimulus Payments?
state stimulus payments 2022

Maine Offers $850 in Relief Payments

In order to help households fight inflation, Maine residents will be required to file their 2021 individual income tax returns by October 31, 2022. 

To access payments, individuals cannot be named as dependent on another person’s tax return and cannot exceed an income of $100,000 (as single or married filing separately), $150,000 (as head of household), or $200,000 (as married filing jointly).

Georgia Provides Refunds of Up to $500 

Georgia House Bill 1302 passed in March 2022 and provides a full or partial refund of income taxes paid in 2020. To qualify for the rebate you will need to be full-year residents in 2020 and 2021 and have filed the state income tax return for both years. If you qualify, you will receive a refund via direct deposit.

Idaho Gives Tax Rebates for Qualified Residents

In February 2022, House Bill 436, which provides tax rebates to eligible residents, was passed. To access these benefits, applicants must have been full residents in 2020 and 2021 and filed an individual income tax return or form 24 in 2020 and 2021. Those who have not filed an income tax return must do so before the end of 2022 to qualify. 

Indiana Provides Tax Rebates of $125

The residents of this state can receive a one-time tax refund if they have filed their 2021 state income tax returns. Requirements are not yet clear, but the state revealed an estimate of $545 million in these tax refunds to be distributed. 

New Mexico Passed Legislation for a One-Time Rebate

In March 2022 the state passed House Bill 163 and plans to provide residents with a one-time tax rebate. Single filers can get $250 and married couples that file jointly can get $500.

Aside from these five states, several others are currently considering several stimulus payments and tax rebates, including California, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and Virginia.

Additionally, several cities are also providing stimulus money to their residents:

  • Chicago: Low-income residents can receive $500 checks to $5,000 each month throughout 2022. They’ll be selected at random for this stimulus lottery.
  • Los Angeles: the BIG LEAP program provides 3,200 randomly chosen people with $1,000 each month.
  • Pittsburgh: the Assured Cash Experiment program provides 100 low-income residents $500 each month for 2 years.
  • Santa Ana: the Revive Santa Ana Resident Stimulus Program provides $300 in payments to low-income residents under the poverty level.
  • Seattle: the Seattle Relief Fund provides $1,000-$3,000 for low-income residents.

Next Slide: How to Get Cash Assistance